Home > Women's Rights > Motion 312 Rant…

Motion 312 Rant…

Please, PLEASE! Take a minute to read this. If you agree then sign it, if not than think about what I’m about to say. I’ve been following what’s been going on in the States in regards to this exact thing, I’ve been Facebooking & Tweeting about this for the last week or so. I am enraged by this country’s inability to follow it’s own damn path! We seem to always have to do what the States are doing, like an annoying little brother, without stopping to question anything. The reason I have such a problem with this Motion is that it will follow in the steps of the laws that are currently being passed in the States. It’s taking away a woman’s right to choose, and taking away our power over our bodies.

In my opinion, this is propagating the beliefs founded in Catholicism. The belief that using any sort of birth control is going against the church, and abortion also goes against the church. Now (in the US) it’s being filtered in through the government, and carried out into laws being passed in a number of states. Putting women in horrible situations, life threatening situations, striping them of their rights to decide what happens to their bodies. Not only are there health risks to both the mother & child, but what about children born into a life of pain & suffering either because they are born with sever birth defects, or children born into lives of extreme poverty. One article I read talked about how the law will prevent doctors from telling expectant mothers about issues & birth defects found in an ultrasound or sonogram taking away their right to choose to abort the pregnancy. Does anyone else see what’s wrong with this?

Now just a quick note here: I know people who have children with disabilities, and I’m not saying that you made the wrong choice, I’m saying that everyone should always have the right to make a choice either way.

One day I will be a mother, goddess willing, until then I will exercise my right to use birth control. When I become pregnant I hope I still have the freedom & right to see the pregnancy through or terminate it if something goes horribly wrong. The government does not have the right to push religious beliefs on me, or anyone for that matter. It has the responsibility to uphold our rights, allowing us access to health care that is free of religious coercion. There should be safe places that provide family planning & unbiased counseling.

If they are successful in taking away this right, what other rights are they then going to take away? Think about that, even if this issue doesn’t affect you personally, it may affect someone you love. I may not agree with you, but I will fight for you to have the right to disagree with me. So please sign this petition, and pass it on to everyone you know. As I’ve said a few times in a few places, no one should have more rights over our bodies than we do. Whether you are pro life or pro choice, have needed or may need an abortion it should be YOUR choice.

Here’s all the information I have access to as of today. Read it, & share it, Stand up and fight for our rights.

Motion 312:

http://www.exchangemagazine.com/morningpost/2012/week11/Thursday/12031503.htm
http://www.arcc-cdac.ca/action/M-312-sample-letter.html
http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/oppose-motion-312-rejetez-motion-312.html

What’s going on in the States:

http://reproductiverights.org/en/feature/2011-at-the-midpoint-the-state-of-reproductive-rights
http://maddowblog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/03/19/10762970-mandatory-ultrasound-measure-approved-by-idaho-senate
http://whatever.scalzi.com/2012/03/20/guest-post-a-doctor-on-transvaginal-ultrasounds/

Please take this issue seriously.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

As Always, I'm interested in what you have to say...

