Home > GMO Info > Here’s where we begin…

Here’s where we begin…

It’s time to wake up and start being smart & ethical about the foods we buy. I’ve been living the “clean” lifestyle for only a month but already I feel better, I have more energy & I’ve lost a couple pounds. The rule I live by is simply this; if the ingredients listed on the box aren’t available in the grocery store then they aren’t food. If they aren’t food then why would I want to eat them?

Since starting this a month ago I’ve modified it to include more and more organic, non-gmo food products, because “Franken Foods” aren’t food. Ever gone out to dinner, eaten a big meal and then an hour – 2 hours later you feel like you never even ate? Chances are what you ate wasn’t actually food, your body probably didn’t even know what to do with it.

Now, I know some of you are thinking… but organic is so expensive. It’s really not, you just have to prioritize your money and put food at the top of your list. I am not rich by any stretch of the imagination so in order to go organic I stopped drinking alcohol (granted I wasn’t a big drinker to begin with), I stopped buying that daily cup of coffee, I also stopped buying junk food & cleaning products*. I gave up things that I don’t even miss and the money we save goes back into our food budget. We had to make some sacrifices by choosing what was more important to us… Our health.

Maybe it wasn’t as hard of a choice as some of you may find it. I’m lucky because grew up with home cooked meals made from produce we grew in our garden, we ate a lot of canned & frozen goods in the winters. We lived away from the city so fast food wasn’t really an option. Home cooked meals are much cheaper than eating out, and you know what’s in your food when you make it yourself.

Though I’m not perfect, nobody is, I do the best I can with what’s in the realm of my control and that’s all I’m asking of you. Be aware, and stand up for your rights.

Thank you for reading my post.

I’d like to leave you with a couple articles that I read today:

Vaccines

20 GMO Products

11 Steps of the GEM

* We clean our entire apartment with 2 ingredients; vinegar &  baking soda. We even use vinegar for a fabric softener. I am currently working on finding a recipe to make my own laundry & dish soap. Not only are these cheeper alternatives, they are also better for the environment.

Categories: GMO Info Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

As Always, I'm interested in what you have to say...

