Home > GMO Info > Countries banning GMOs…

Countries banning GMOs…

Poland joins the Countries banning GMO crops… when are we going to join them? How can I help move this process along?

Poland Bans Monsantos

So I decided to look into what Canada is doing on this front and I came across an article from 2004, but what the heck have we been up to recently?

I stumbled upon this handy pdf, although I’m sure it’s not current either, but Green Peace’s site says that they’re working on updating it… a step in the right direction. I’ll be printing this out to keep with me when I go to the grocery store.

I found a site where we Canadians can get involved, demand that the federal government implement mandatory labelling of GE foods here. We have the right to know what’s in our food, and we have the right to choose not to eat it. Also take the time to send this letter to your MP. If you don’t know who your MP is you can find that information here.

I was going to say, “Why won’t the government step in and protect us, fight for our rights?” but then I answered my own question. Our government isn’t run by we the people, who vote them into office, they work for the large corporations with super deep pockets. These large corporations have a lot of money and it seems to me the more money to be made the more they get to throw their weight around. If there isn’t a profit to be made, they’re not interested. There isn’t a profit to be made if we’re healthy, happy citizens.

Here’s another golden tidbit for today, Monsanto, a large American corporation, is threatening to sue Vermont if legislation passes on the bill to label GMO products. This corporation is going to sue the state of Vermont if they have to label their products! Seriously? I thought the US was a democracy, if that’s true, then why is the government ignoring 90% of the citizens who are demanding labels?

I’ll leave you with this article, www.purezing.com.

Thanks for reading & always please leave me your comments.

Juniper

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

As Always, I'm interested in what you have to say...

