Home > GMO Info, Jillian Michael's Podcasts > Organic vs Non-Organic…

Organic vs Non-Organic…

I was listening to a Jillian Michael’s podcast the other day, she had a lady on by the name of Maria Rodale, the topic of conversation was Organic Food. I jotted a lot of notes as they spoke and I wanted to share that podcast here with you.

Maria Rodale April 29th, 2011

After I was finished listening to the podcast, I did some google investigating. The Rodale company has been around for a long, long time, most people know of them via their cosmetic products, but I didn’t realize how long they’d been at the Organic game. They have a wealth of information on their website, Rodale. While I was perusing, I came across the 30 year study on Organic vs Non-Organic crops. Here’s a pdf of the 30 year trial Farming Systems Trial.

By what I’ve gathered, the biggest issue people have with buying Organic is the price. I’m guilty of thinking this way too. I can’t speak for how it is everywhere else but where I live there really isn’t much of a difference. Take today for example; I bought a bag of 6 organic grapefruits for $4.98 at Superstore (83¢ a piece, and the non-organic were 99¢ each). Granted that’s not always the case when comparing the two, it depends on where you buy and what you buy. Honestly, I haven’t noticed more than a $1.50 difference at most. Wouldn’t you rather pay a bit more for real food? Than suffer the ill effects of ingesting pesticides? I’m not rich, but I’ve made my health my #1 priority, and have sacrificed little things to afford good food. I’ve also started growing my own veggies, living in an apartment it’s not an easy feat, but it’s the easiest way to know where my food comes from.

Other ways to get your fruits & veggies is to buy what’s in season, buy from farmer’s markets (look into CSA Local Farms) or buy frozen when available as they are fresher & better for you then the once that spent 2 weeks in a truck. Check out Local Harvest, they have both a .com for Americans & a .ca for Canadians.

Do you realize if more people started buying organic, the increase in demand would increase the production thus the competition would drive the prices down. If enough people started voting with their money we could shut down the conventional* farmers and put the pesticide companies out of business!

Stand up for what you want! Just remember if you don’t have your health you don’t have anything.

______________________

Conventional Farming: refers to farmers who use pesticides on their crops. Their marketing team really earned their dollar bills on that one. Sooo misleading!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

As Always, I'm interested in what you have to say...

