Home > Canadian Government > This is the problem with politicians…

This is the problem with politicians…

I wrote a letter expressing my concerns about GE Wheat, I sent it to the The Honourable Gerry Ritz Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, included my member of Parliament, and I also sent a copy of the letter to all the other constituents. For those of you that are reading this but don’t live in Canada, our federal election is just around the corner. I received 2 replies (out of 5-6), these two replies are extremely different.

One is from James Rajotte, M.P.’s Constituency Office Manager. It’s a short letter that thanks me for my concerns, tells me that my letter will be brought to Mr. Rajotte’s attention and it will be carefully considered. I cannot share the letter in it’s entirety here due to the “PRIVACY AND CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE” they put at the bottom of the email. I can tell you how disappointed I am at the lack of response, as well as the lack of human emotion contained within this reply. It is definitely a cookie cutter letter that they send out to everyone. I’m sure they are all very busy doing their jobs, but a large, important part of their job is taking care of us, the people who put them in office in the first place. I think our concerns should be met with a little more give-a-shit-ness. I digress…

The second letter is from Elizabeth May, which I can copy in it’s entirety, no Privacy & Confidentiality Notice here.

Thank you for copying me on your letter to Minister Ritz regarding genetically-modified organisms (GMOs) in Canada, in particular the threat of commercialization of GMO wheat.

The Green Party of Canada is committed to banning experimentation with planting and promotion of GMOs, and implementing mandatory labelling of all GMOs. Further GMO research (except for traditional seed selection and grafting) should be terminated at Agriculture Canada, and companies such as Monsanto must be stopped from owning patents to GMOs developed through joint research with Agriculture Canada.

GMOs pose a potentially serious threat to human health and the health of natural ecosystems. Many Canadians want to follow the example of the European Union and implement a zero tolerance for GMOs, including a ban of low-level presence GMO crops. At a minimum, we need adequate labelling, giving consumers the right to know about, and to say no to GMOs. The Harper Conservatives are not exercising enough oversight and control. The Green Party is committed to supporting Canadian producers and implementing a ban on all GMO crops, including maintaining the ban on GMO wheat.

Thank you again for your letter. I applaud your efforts at bringing attention to this issue, and I will continue to represent your concerns in Parliament.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth May, O.C., M.P.
Member of Parliament for Saanich-Gulf Islands
Leader of the Green Party of Canada

This is what a reply letter should look like! Now, one must remember that the election is around the corner, and this could very well be lip service to earn my vote, but at least they’re trying to earn it. LOL

I openly admit that I don’t know much about politics, and I’ve only in the last couple of years started to be a knowledgeable voter. I really don’t enjoy politics, everyone makes promises to get elected, but then when they are elected they make excuses for why they aren’t doing what they promised. I find it difficult to decide which party to throw my vote behind because you really don’t know what you’re voting for, how will they change when they get into power, or which hidden agendas will become their focus. It’s a crap shoot my friends, we’ll see whose crap appeals more to me.

So there’s today’s rant… political agendas should be the people’s agendas and I think we should have more say over what the government does. They work for us, not the other way around.

Juniper

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

As Always, I'm interested in what you have to say...

