Home > Clean Program, Health & Wellbeing > Clean Reading…

Clean Reading…

 JUNE 8th, 2012

I started reading this book yesterday, after a close friend recommended it to me. She wants me to read it for two reasons… 1) so that we can talk about it together and 2) because we share common views on healthy, ethical eating, and similar opinions on how food should be the go-to solution before prescription medicines.

I am currently on Chapter 3 Global Toxicity: Another Inconvenient Truth. He starts the book off by talking about how our hunter gatherer Ancestors would go through periods of feast & famine, and how our bodies evolved to utilize the periods of famine to detoxify & reset our internal systems.

A focused period of detoxifying is a reset for the whole physical and mental body. It delivers an all-access pass to boundless reserves of energy you didn’t know you had. You find that every par of your body works better, imbalances are rectified, and irritating symptoms get a change to melt away on their own – all by your simply “switching on” a system that you were bore with and that has been patiently waiting to serve you. (pg 2)

Okay, I understand this theory, we do come from a hunter – gatherer ancestors who relied on Mother Nature to provide sustenance. They went through lean times where only the most adaptable survived long enough to procreate. Got it. I can see where he’s headed when he talks about modern society, in first world countries such as Canada & the US, where we no longer experience lean times. This seems to be of some influence for his theory that the Clean Program could provide a necessary detox for us in the modern world surrounded by toxins in our food, water & air.

Today, life has changed. We are newly waking up to something of an evolutionary paradox. The more the toxicity of modern life increases, bombarding us with unnatural toxins from our diet and the environment, the more the demands to detoxify have increased. Yet our body’s ability to handle the load hasn’t accelerated at the same rapid pace. How could it? The world might have changed dramatically in one century, but our bodies take many generations to make one genetic change. The more dangerously toxic life has become, and the more depleted of vital nutrients our digest have become, and the more rushed life has become, the more our grand detoxification system has gotten overwhelmed. (pg 4)

He goes on to talk about our current heath care system and where it’s lacking. All of which I completely agree with. When was the last time you went to see your doctor and felt like you were imposing on their day, because they really didn’t have time for you? Every time I go. Perhaps I need a new doctor, or perhaps they are all like that. He talks about how, “headaches, bowel irregularities, allergies, weigh problems, depression, anxiety and pain are largely caused by failing detox systems.” I personally know people who, and I myself suffer from, at least one or more of these issues. He’s saying we can alleviate these issues by doing a detox (following the Clean program) once a year. Interesting! If we don’t have to live with these issues, I think it’s worth a look.

Chapter 2: A Doctor’s Journey, is about his own journey from a young boy growing up in Uruguay to a busy medical student become doctor in New York City. The tole that changing lifestyles took on his body & mind, and how he came to discover the information he is now sharing in this book. I found this chapter interesting because it illustrates how damaging our fast paced lifestyle really is here in North America, and explains why we are faced with all these health & mental issues.

Not only are we facing these issues but so is our planet. In Chapter 3 Global Toxicity : Another Inconvenient Truth, He describes how cancer cells work biologically, then explains how humans are mirroring that process on our planet. I can get behind him on this comparison, and he puts it so perfectly.

When you look at cancer cells under a microscope, you see cells that kill each other and every other cell in the neighbourhood; they grow and produce unusually fast, disregarding the natural laws of space, population density, and food avaiability. They also have a tendency to travel to distance places and conquer new territories. … Cancer cells eat different foods than healthy cells. The waste products they eliminate into the circulatory system are often toxic chemicals that affect the whole organism that hosts them. (pg. 31)

 Makes sense to me. I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of this book, and I plan on sharing it here in this post. I will document my progress as I follow this program, once I get to that part of the book. 🙂 I’m hoping to benefit tremendously from the information as well as share this book with family, friends and followers of my blog.

Thanks for reading! Please feel free to leave your comments.

Juniper

—————-

  1. Sherri
    June 13, 2012 at 7:09 am

    Well you know *I* love the book… LOL. I’m feeling great already, after following the Elmination Diet portion of the program, and am about to enter the detox portion. I’m sleeping better than I ever have in my entire adult life, I’m energetic throughout the day, and I’ve dropped a few pounds to boot. The most amazing transformation for me though, is the fact that finally I have stopped obsessing about food. This book has taught me to eat mindfully, once and for all. Keep the blog coming!

    • June 13, 2012 at 7:18 am

      Thank you Sherri!
      Your experience is pulling me along. I am enjoying the book and am looking forward to continuing my book study here on my blog. It’s awesome to have someone to talk to about this program and I look forward to having my energy renewed and my body reset and working the way it’s intended to work. I have a lot of friends with the issues he’s talking about so I’m hoping my success will encourage them to take the same journey. Much Love Juniper.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

As Always, I'm interested in what you have to say...

